Are We Human Enough?

November 20, 2008

Well well! Am I human enough? Are you human enough? Lets find out!!!

To find the answer for the above question, I would like to share a few experiences of mine . Here goes the first one..

staring-at-infinity

It was a rainy afternoon and I took my dad’s scooter to ride it for fun. I was a bit scared coz I was in my 10 th grade and yeah I dint have a license. After 15 minutes of blissful ride on the roads with a friend, I was brought to my senses by a big sound of a crash! No it wasn’t me who crashed, it was a couple whose vehicle skid over the wet slippery roads. All the vehicles on the road had stopped, except mine. I was so damn scared of the cops who were approaching the accident spot, what if they caught me without a license? I drove my vehicle onto the pavement to go home soon! But amidst all this panic and confusion, my friend was shocked at what I was doing! “Wait! We’ve gotta help the injured!” for which I refused outright… My friend got down the scooter and proceeded to help them….

The second incident…

It was an calm afternoon on some national holiday in March ‘08. I boarded a bus home from my friend’s place. I have to get down the moving bus to avoid a half kilometer walk, so I was waiting on the foot board for the bus to slow down a bit…. Then I saw a man walking in the opposite direction. There was something peculiar about this man! He was staggering a bit and walking at a retarded pace. I thought he must have been drunk! I got down the bus and started walking home. Dunno what made me look back, but I turned back to see what that man was doing. I was shocked to see that the stranger was on the ground, having an epileptic seizure or “fits” as some people may call it. I looked around to find other pedestrians and motorists passing by, as if nothing was happening!!! I wondered if I should help him or not, I remembered the incident way back in my 10Th grade, I was ashamed of what I did then, its time now to act appropriately! I approached the man, held his hand and looked into his eyes giving him a reassuring look.I didn’t know what to do,to stop the seizure! Many on goers stopped by to throw a look, and finally my efforts weren’t in vain.Some of them came forward to assist me [:)]. I dialled 108 and waited till the man was safely put on a stretcher in the ambulance! He couldnt talk, to thank me or the others, all he did was stare back into my eyes, thankfully!!

I can never forget that look, it always makes me feel good about helping people out. Who knows some day I could have an accident and might be bleeding to death on the road waiting for someone to help me. I’m sure there will be someone to hold my hand and give me a reassuring look, telling me that i’d be okay once the ambulance arrives! Even if I die the very next moment I’d be happy that a stranger, whom i didnt know my entire life, was trying to help me out! I guess this is what they call HUMANITY!

Now the question is are you human enough? Will you be the one to hold my hand and stare into my eyes when i’m about to die???

10 Responses to “Are We Human Enough?”

  1. These remind me an incident of my life. No, I don’t call it, an act of humanity/ service/ help. I did it, because I felt like doing it. More because of the ‘need’, than because of the ‘care’.

    I had helped a blind man cross the road, majorly because I thought it would be better for the traffic, if he could move a little faster. I later on, realized he would have been more at ease, if I had let him alone. He was used to it. But, this was better for the rest. Though, hardly anyone around managed to understand. Most rather assumed me to be one of those ‘show-off-good-hearted-heroine’ types.

    I have never believed in social service, somehow; service as in, the’I would donate this part of my salary to the poor’ type. I do not eat less, so that someone else eats along. But I make it a point not to eat more than necessary; if you know what I mean.

    People who deserved to be helped, ‘need’ to be helped. I did it, when I could. Though sometimes, making a fool of myself, like in the case of helping-the-blind-man-episode.

    And, calling 108 on time, was result of your presence of mind. Good work. 🙂
    Cheers!

  2. These remind me an incident of my life. No, I don’t call it, an act of humanity/ service/ help. I did it, because I felt like doing it. More because of the ‘need’, than because of the ‘care’.

    I had helped a blind man cross the road, majorly because I thought it would be better for the traffic, if he could move a little faster. I later on, realized he would have been more at ease, if I had let him alone. He was used to it. But, this was better for the rest. Though, hardly anyone around managed to understand. Most rather assumed me to be one of those ’show-off-good-hearted-heroine’ types.

    I have never believed in social service, somehow; service as in, the’I would donate this part of my salary to the poor’ type. I do not eat less, so that someone else eats along. But I make it a point not to eat more than necessary; if you know what I mean.

    People who deserve to be helped, ‘need’ to be helped. I did it, when I could. Though sometimes, making a fool of myself, like in the case of helping-the-blind-man-episode.

    And, calling 108 on time, was result of your presence of mind. Good work.
    Cheers!

  3. kanishkaanand said

    yea..i’l hold ur hand n stare at u n say “gotcha bi-a-tch !!”…every one’s human re…we’re juss too ignorant to accept it !!!

  4. kanishkaanand said

    n yea…try gettin this song..kitna badal gaya insaan…fits perfectly fr this !!!!

  5. kanishkaanand said

    Naa badla na suraj…Naa badla na chand..Kitna Badal Gaya Insaan !!!!!

  6. Vikranth Vasireddy said

    @ Priyanka: Thank you for being here and yeah, calling 108 ain’t a great thing.. we should be thankful that such services exist in Hyderabad
    @ Kanishk : tu aaya toh definitely maroongaa bey….. coz u’d send back the ambulance sayin ” U dick head how can u get an ambulance which doesn’t have an A.C. for my friend?” 😛

  7. great post !

    the main problem is people dont see any profit in humanitarian professions or in any act of humanity,
    so if we want ppl to be more moral, ethical,humanitarian ; we have to give them what they are looking for. if people get something every time they help a blind cross a road, then ppl will rush to help the blind !

    create that something !

    n yes dude, change the heading of ur blog to vikranth speaks or vikranths blog or whatever

  8. Vikranth Vasireddy said

    @ Rizwan: That something.. was always there, according to me its man’s conscience! and yeah I’l take ur advice.. i’l try and change the heading 🙂

  9. The Mad Man said

    “Will you be the one to hold my hand and stare into my eyes when i’m about to die???”

    I never knew you had slewed tendencies. 😐
    But I’m supportive of whatever you want to be man, i mean it! 😉

    On a serious note, I think this one’s decent. The fan following is bulging day by day 😉

  10. kanishka said

    yup..rizwans rite..looks like we need to create somethin more stupid than lookin for profit !!! 😛

Leave a comment