Popat!

December 10, 2008

Hmmmm… Its been long since I pondered over my intermediate college days!! I usaually hated that part of my life coz there was too much foolish competetion and we were compelled to study to compete with others fools like me, aiming for the I.I.T.’s! Those two years of my life I really want them back. But there were some good things too, one of which is getting exposed to different types of people. One of such person who randomly came to my mind the other day was “Popat”!!!old_man-best-small

Popat was this old guy who was appointed the peon of my college. He was 60+ , dressed in formals with the shirt tucked in and trousers short in length. He was wearing “Hawai chappal”. The whole point…. he’s a old retired guy who was delighted to have the job. Nobody knew his name. Some one called him Popat , and everyone followed the suit. People were making fun of the way he was dressed and the sincerity with which he does his job. The students thought he was a perfect entertainment, a jester at the college! I joined the band wagon initially, but slowly I started realising that I was making fun of his “Majboori”… he had to take all that shit from us because he had to feed his family back at home! For, it was the only chance he’s got, his only job, the only way to feed his hungry family. Who would take an old, weak , retired guy when they can get a young and strong person to do the same job for a lower wage? But who cared then? We all wanted to make fun of him.. humiliate him and flush his ego down the drains!!

I still repent for being a part of that senseless mob which never cared about peoples feelings or integrity!!!

One Response to “Popat!”

  1. hehe…
    Just like you got a chance to make up for your ‘who cares’ nature (from the previous post), you will also find your chance to make up for this regret. Have patience, and be clever enough to recognize that opportunity; after all, that is what life is all about. Committing mistakes, realizing and making up for them! 😉

Leave a comment